Plated

**This is a guest review. My stepmother, Brenda, saw this book & asked to read it. I told her sure if she would write the review for it.**

Plated by Elana Karp and Szanne Dumaine

Info:

About:

The more than 125 inventive, repertoire-building recipes in Plated will help you cook and eat food you love without having to think so hard about it. Every dish here will work no matter how much (or little) time you have to cook, whether it’s quick dinner on a Monday for two or a backyard barbecue for a crowd. The recipes are all rooted in a core technique—think One-Pan Roasted Chicken, Slow-Simmered Turkey Chili, or Cheesy Baked Penne—but can also be customized according to peak produce and just what you’re in the mood for. Step-by-step prep instructions and menu ideas take the stress out of cooking, so you know exactly what to do and when. Here, too, are ways for you to stretch these recipes, like basic marinades and spice rubs that can be used on almost anything, reinventions for leftovers, big-batch make-aheads, company-worthy feasts, and perfect sides. Plated is sure to become a well-loved, sauce-splattered staple in your kitchen.

Brenda’s Review

**QUICK INFO: I do my best not to have spoilers, but I will warn you I may accidentally have them in my review.**

This Is that rare cookbook that one would not only love to own, but would have no qualms giving to anyone on their gift list: brides, girlfriends, daughters, sisters, and brothers etc.

For the accomplished cook, it teaches new techniques with aplomb; and for novices, it explains procedures and reveals kitchen basics, putting together a menu and entertaining for a crowd.

As a seasoned cook, what I love about “Plated” is the book’s sections on using herbs and making rubs, (“Flavoring,” chapter 1”) and its reliance on simple – and found in stores – ingredients. I recommend this book for absolutely anyone. It is also an excellent read.

–Brenda


I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.


The Perfect Horse

Info:

Title: The Perfect Horse: The Daring American Mission to Rescue the Priceless Stallions Kidnapped by the Nazis
Author: Elizabeth Letts
Published: August 23, 2016
Pages: 384
Category: History | Animals | Nonfiction | War

About:
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Eighty-Dollar Champion, the remarkable story of the heroic rescue of priceless horses in the closing days of World War II

In the chaotic last days of the war a small troop of battle-weary American soldiers captures a German spy and makes an astonishing find—his briefcase is empty but for photos of beautiful white horses that have been stolen and kept on a secret farm behind enemy lines. Hitler has stockpiled the world’s finest purebreds in order to breed the perfect military machine—an equine master race. But with the starving Russian army closing in, the animals are in imminent danger of being slaughtered for food.

With only hours to spare, one of the Army’s last great cavalrymen, American colonel Hank Reed, makes a bold decision—with General George Patton’s blessing—to mount a covert rescue operation. Racing against time, Reed’s small but determined force of soldiers, aided by several turncoat Germans, steals across enemy lines in a last-ditch effort to save the horses.
[…] Continue Reading…

Marie Antoinette’s Darkest Days

Info:

Title: Marie Antoinette’s Darkest Days: Prisoner No. 280 in the Conciergerie
Author: Will Bashor
Published: Dec 1 2016
Pages: 396 pages
Category: Nonfiction | History | Cultural | France

About:
This compelling book begins on the 2nd of August 1793, the day Marie Antoinette was torn from her family’s arms and escorted from the Temple to the Conciergerie, a thick-walled fortress turned prison. It was also known as the “waiting room for the guillotine” because prisoners only spent a day or two here before their conviction and subsequent execution. The ex-queen surely knew her days were numbered, but she could never have known that two and a half months would pass before she would finally stand trial and be convicted of the most ungodly charges.

Will Bashor traces the final days of the prisoner registered only as Widow Capet, No. 280, a time that was a cruel mixture of grandeur, humiliation, and terror. Marie Antoinette’s reign amidst the splendors of the court of Versailles is a familiar story, but her final imprisonment in a fetid, dank dungeon is a little-known coda to a once-charmed life. Her seventy-six days in this terrifying prison can only be described as the darkest and most horrific of the fallen […] Continue Reading…

Book Review: The Mask

Info:

Title: The Mask
Author: Taylor Stevens
Published: Mar 29, 2016
Pages: 352
Category: Mystery & Suspense

About:

“Munroe is a sensational character and Stevens is a sensational writer.” —Lee Child, New York Times bestselling author of the Jack Reacher series

For fans of Lee Child, Terry Hayes, and Laura Lippman comes a blistering thriller in which Vanessa Michael Munroe faces the fight of her life

Vanessa Michael Munroe, chameleon and information hunter, has a reputation for getting things done: dangerous and not quite legal things that have taken her undercover into some of the world’s deadliest places. Still healing from a Somali hijacking gone wrong and a brutal attack that left her near death, Munroe joins her lover, Miles Bradford, in Japan where he’s working as a security consultant protecting high-value technology from industrial espionage. In the domesticity of their routine she finds long sought-after peace—until Bradford is arrested for murder, and the same interests who targeted him come after her, too.
Searching for answers and fighting to stay alive, Munroe will soon discover how far she’ll go to save Bradford from spending the […] Continue Reading…

Book Review: By Helen’s Hand

Info:

Title: By Helen’s Hand (Helen of Sparta #2)
Author: Amalia Carosella
Published: May 10, 2016
Pages: 429
Category: Historical Fiction | Fantasy | Mythology

About:
Helen believed she could escape her destiny and save her people from utter destruction. After defying her family and betraying her intended husband, she found peace with her beloved Theseus, the king of Athens and son of Poseidon.

But peace did not last long. Cruelly separated from Theseus by the gods, and uncertain whether he will live or die, Helen is forced to return to Sparta. In order to avoid marriage to Menelaus, a powerful prince unhinged by desire, Helen assembles an array of suitors to compete for her hand. As the men circle like vultures, Helen dreams again of war—and of a strange prince, meant to steal her away. Every step she takes to protect herself and her people seems to bring destruction nearer. Without Theseus’s strength to support her, can Helen thwart the gods and stop her nightmare from coming to pass?

My Review

**QUICK INFO: I do my best not to have spoilers, but I will warn you I may accidentally have them in my review.**

This book was a pick up cause I LOVE Mythology lore. It was […] Continue Reading…