Book Review: The Crooked Staircase

Title: The Crooked Staircase (Jane Hawk #3)
Author: Dean Koontz

Jane Hawk—who dazzled readers in The Silent Corner and The Whispering Room—faces the fight of her life, against the threat of a lifetime, in this electrifying new thriller by #1 New York Times bestselling suspense master Dean Koontz.

“I could be dead tomorrow. Or something worse than dead.”

Jane Hawk knows she may be living on borrowed time. But as long as she’s breathing, she’ll never cease her one-woman war against the terrifying conspiracy that threatens the freedom—and free will—of millions. Battling the strange epidemic of murder-suicides that claimed Jane’s husband, and is escalating across the country, has made the rogue FBI agent a wanted fugitive, relentlessly hunted not only by the government but by the secret cabal behind the plot. Deploying every resource their malign nexus of power and technology commands, Jane’s enemies are determined to see her dead . . . or make her wish she was.

Jane’s ruthless pursuers can’t stop her from drawing a bead on her prey: a cunning man with connections in high places, a twisted soul of unspeakable depths with an army of professional killers on call. Propelled by her righteous fury and implacable insistence on justice, Jane will make her way from southern Southern California to the snow-swept slopes of Lake Tahoe to confront head-on the lethal forces arrayed against her. But nothing can prepare her for the chilling truth that awaits when she descends the crooked staircase to the dark and dreadful place where her long nightmare was born.

Advance praise for The Crooked Staircase

“An absorbing thriller full of fresh touches . . . Writing his unusual heroine, Koontz keeps the pages alive with attitude as well as action. . . . For Hawk, who is as fearless as she is beautiful, no obstacle is too great, especially with the well-being of her hidden-away five-year-old son on her mind.”—Kirkus Reviews

My Review

Is the next book available yet???? I am on the edge of my seat waiting for it! I have read books one through three now and have to tell you this is a wonderful series. Each one leaves you on a cliffhanger (which in some wait is nail biting crazy) and you can not wait for the next one to come out.

The lengths Jane Hawk has gone to find out the truth and then when she knows the truth the further lengths she is going to find the top of the ladder of the truth is simply amazing. You will cry and laugh, and then scream, “You go girl” when she wins a small victory. Though I do have to say this cliffhanger ending makes me wanna cry and Dean Koontz needs to hurry up and get his publishers to put out number four cause I need to know what happens to one character.

The simple fact that Jane knows she will probably die in this investigation is depressing yet you receive enough hope that she won’t and will be reunited with her son and live out the rest of her life in happiness or as close to it as she can. Since it is Dean Koontz you will not know that till the end of the story.


I received this book from Net Galley for this review.

Link to this post:

<a href="">Book Review: The Crooked Staircase</a>