Book Review: A Court Of Thorns And Roses


Title: A Court Of Thorns And Roses
Author: Sarah J. Maas
Rating:


When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it…or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

My Review

I was recommended this book by GoodReads and since it sounded interesting I borrowed it from my local library. It was well worth the read. Though it is labeled as “young adult” I would want to make sure that your “young adult” was at the older stage. There are sex scenes in this book and though they are not graphic I would not feel comfortable with a teenager around 12-13 reading it unless they were mature for their age, but that is the parent’s choice not mine.

This book has a very fantasy feel for it and you latch on to Feyre very quickly in the book and you feel the roller coaster of her emotions and the love she feels for Tamlin. The things she has to do to keep that love and for the rest of the fae. Amarantha requires horrible things for Feyre to do in order to gt Tamlin back and save the Fae.

This book will grab you and refuse to let you go. I have already ordered the entire series from my local library and am currently reading book 2 (A Court Of Mist And Fury) and loving every minute of it.

Get a copy of this book if you like Fae and fantasy books. Heck, get it even if you don’t like that type. It is diverse enough I believe you will enjoy the read.

 

Book Review: The House of Styx


Title: The House of Styx
Author: Derek Künsken
Rating:


“Künsken’s vivid worldbuilding is a knockout…This is a must-read.” –Publishers Weekly starred review

The first installment in a ground breaking, action-packed and exciting new science fiction seriesVenus Ascendant, from the best-selling author of The Quantum Magician.

Life can exist anywhere. And anywhere there is life, there is home.

In the swirling clouds of Venus, the families of la colonie live on floating plant-like trawlers, salvaging what they can in the fierce acid rain and crackling storms. Outside is dangerous, but humankind’s hold on the planet is fragile and they spend most of their days simply surviving.

But Venus carries its own secrets, too. In the depths, there is a wind that shouldn’t exist.

And the House of Styx wants to harness it.

My Review

Though the description made the book sound very interesting but it was a tad bit boring at times and long winded. I do not normally read sci-fi but wanted to try this since the description sounded interesting. The story line, characters, and plot were all good I just could not feel for the characters. I may or may not read the next in the series, but if you like sci-fi then this is a good book. The author did his homework on the abilities and possibilities or living on Venus so he makes it sound doable I just did not get into the book.

 

I received this book from Net Galley for this review.

Book Review: Tituba


Title: Tituba
Author: Dave Tamanini
Rating:


Think you know the Salem story?

Revisit Salem’s Terror in a Provocative New Retelling

Tituba explores the emotions and reasons driving unstable times in 1692.

With its magical point of view, let Tituba cast its spell with a unique and tantalizing tale that will have you wondering “what if.”

A Promise and a Hope

Enslaved Tituba has been faithful to a promise to her dying mama in Africa. She has appeased the masters from Barbados to Boston to Salem and waited for her magic.

A Mother’s Agony

When Tituba’s only son dies trying to escape slavery, her life changes forever. After enduring the crush only a mother can feel, she rages and turns to vengeance.

Witches Tear into Salem

The villagers see witches and demons everywhere. Their ministers say the Devil has sent them to steal souls. But they are wrong. It is Tituba—disobeying an ancient rule—conjuring terrifying images with magic that sparks the infamous witch hunts of 1692.

A Woman’s Dilemma

As neighbors accuse neighbors of witchcraft, hysterical trials follow. And Tituba gloats in her power. But when hangings begin, her conscience arises. Can she confront her secret crime? And when a chance for redemption presents itself, will she take it?

My Review

This book did not go where I thought it was gonna go. It was very well told and written. If you want a different angle on the Salem Witch Trials then this is a good book to read. It is not a hard read and it will grab your attention pretty quickly. Tituba is a mother and wife that has been horribly treated and you can understand completely why she did what she did.

 

I received this book from Net Galley for this review.