Book Review: The Family at Number 13


Title: The Family at Number 13
Author: S.D. Monaghan
Rating:


The most perfect lives can hide the darkest secrets…

Mary has everything. Beautiful and rich, she lives on an exclusive street in the heart of the city, in a house with gorgeous views and an immaculately maintained garden. Her life looks perfect.

But behind closed doors the truth is very different. Her husband Andrew barely speaks to her, spending his days down in the basement alone. Her teenage nephew is full of rage, lashing out with no warning. Her carefully constructed life is beginning to fall apart.

And then someone starts sending Mary anonymous notes, threatening her and her family…

Everyone has secrets. But is someone at number 13 hiding something that could put the whole family in danger?

A twist-filled thriller with an ending that will shock you to the core. Perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door, Lies and Behind Closed Doors.

A Note From the Publisher
**THIS IS AN UNCORRECTED ADVANCED READERS COPY**

My Review

This book was odd, but quite good. I enjoyed it & it kept me quite enthralled but I just didn’t like how some of the characters were built up. The author made you think the character was going to go one way just to find out that the character went a completely different way and I found that to be a bit confusing.

The story line jumps a bit but it is still readable. In my opinion the author could have done a bit better in describing the back story of each character and some of the characters were not even needed, in my opinion.

I do recommend this book, it was a good book. I just had some issues with the writing style, but do not let that stop you from picking this book up and reading it.

 

I received this book from Net Galley for this review.

Link to this post:

<a href="http://tigerwhispers.com/wp/the-family-at-number-13/">Book Review: The Family at Number 13</a>