Book Review: Warrior of Woden


Title: Warrior of Woden
Author: Matthew Harffy
Rating:


AD 642. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and the fifth instalment in the Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell.

Oswald has reigned over Northumbria for eight years and Beobrand has led the king to ever greater victories. Rewarded for his fealty and prowess in battle, Beobrand is now a wealthy warlord, with a sizable warband. Tales of Beobrand’s fearsome black-shielded warriors and the great treasure he has amassed are told throughout the halls of the land.

Many are the kings who bow to Oswald. And yet there are those who look upon his realm with a covetous eye. And there is one ruler who will never kneel before him.

When Penda of Mercia, the great killer of kings, invades Northumbria, Beobrand is once more called upon to stand in an epic battle where the blood of many will be shed in defence of the kingdom.

But in this climactic clash between the pagan Penda and the Christian Oswald there is much more at stake than sovereignty. This is a battle for the very souls of the people of Albion.

My Review

Ok, I went into this book blind as a bat. I had no clue this was book number five (5) in a series. To be honest, I would have never read this until I read the first four (4) books. I never feel that I can give a good review without reading the entire series. I still feel that since I do not know the entire backstory of the characters I can not give a review of the story line since I do not know what happened beyond the hints that the author gave in this book.

For what I can tell you though, is this book was quite interesting though there were parts that left me confused though I think that they would have been cleared up if I had read the first four (4) books. The author has researched his subject and the story line does make me want to read the first four (4) books.

I enjoyed the characters and they were well written. Though I think there is a love triangle or something that is going on between the wives of the leaders, but again I am not sure as it would be in the back story. You can read this book as a stand alone, but if you are anything like me then you may get confused with some of the characters reactions and attitude with each other.

If you like historical fiction then I do recommend the book, but I would start with the first one before this one. The reading order goes:

  1. The Serpent Sword (The Serpent Sword (Bernicia Chronicles #1)
  2. The Cross and the Curse (Bernicia Chronicles #2)
  3. Blood and Blade (Bernicia Chronicles #3)
  4. Killer of Kings (Bernicia Chronicles #4)
  5. Kin of Cain: A Short Bernicia Tale (Bernicia Chronicles)

I would read these before reading this one. That way you know what is going on in the back story and how the characters relate to each other.

 

I received this book from Net Galley for this review.

Book Review: Song of Blood & Stone


Title: Song of Blood & Stone
Author: L. Penelope
Rating:

“Wonderful characters, unique setting, and an engaging romance set against the backdrop of ancient magic. I can’t wait to see what L. Penelope will do next.”–Ilona Andrews, #1 New York Times bestselling author

L. Penelope’s Song of Blood & Stone is a treacherous, thrilling, epic fantasy about an outcast drawn into a war between two powerful rulers.

Orphaned and alone, Jasminda lives in a land where cold whispers of invasion and war linger on the wind. Jasminda herself is an outcast in her homeland of Elsira, where her gift of Earthsong is feared. When ruthless soldiers seek refuge in her isolated cabin, they bring with them a captive–an injured spy who threatens to steal her heart.

Jack’s mission behind enemy lines to prove that the Mantle between Elsira and Lagrimar is about to fall nearly cost him his life, but he is saved by the healing Song of a mysterious young woman. Now he must do whatever it takes to save Elsira and its people from the True Father and he needs Jasminda’s Earthsong to do it. They escape their vicious captors and together embark on a perilous journey to save Elsira and to uncover the secrets of The Queen Who Sleeps.

Thrust into a hostile society, Jasminda and Jack must rely on one another even as secrets jeopardize their bond. As an ancient evil gains power, Jasminda races to unlock a mystery that promises salvation.

The fates of two nations hang in the balance as Jasminda and Jack must choose between love and duty to fulfill their destinies and end the war.

“Prepare to be hooked. Song of Blood & Stone is brimming with captivating lore, unique magic, and plot-turns you never saw coming. L. Penelope has written your next fantasy obsession.” –Elise Kova, USA Today bestselling author of The Loom Saga

My Review

This book is amazing! I did not think that this books would as good as it was. The story line, the plots, the characters, everything was a wonderful read. From the very start the book was enthralling and very hard to put down. The main character, Jasminda, is such a wonderful character you can’t help but cheer her on and hope for the best.

The layers in this book is amazing. I am currently looking at other books this author has written to read. I can not wait to see what she writes next. This book keeps you enthralled and it is very hard to put down. I did not want this book to end, but alas it did. Now I have to wait till the next one comes out so I can find out how Jasminda handles her new powers she received.

If you like fantasy novels then you will love it. The characters are wonderful and the plot lines are easy to follow yet still leaves you with questions. I know I say this often but I would recommend this book highly if you like fantasy novels.

 

I received this book from Net Galley for this review.

Book Review: The Complete Guide to One-Piece Knits


Title: The Complete Guide to One-Piece Knits
Author: Margaret Hubert
Rating:


Knit your sweaters in one piece–from the top down, the bottom up, or from cuff to cuff–for the whole family, with minimal seaming required!

The Complete Guide to One-Piece Knits offers charted patterns sized from infant to adult and in multiple gauges for classic one-piece knitted pullovers and cardigans knit in top down (both raglan and yoke), bottom up (from waist or sleeve to neckline), and side over (from sleeve to sleeve) styles.

Additional patterns for each style feature alternate stitches, simple color work, and neckline and sleeve variations. A helpful resources section offers guidance on basic techniques.

My Review

Oh my, you want a complete book that gives you instructions on how to knit one piece knits then this is your book. The author gives you children, womans (small to 5xl), & mens. I can not wait to try some of these out. I wanna make one of each of the styles (Top Down, Side Over, and Back to Front). I can not wait to dig my needles into them. Margaret Hubert gives you detailed size charts and instructions for each size and type.

If you knit and want to knit clothing then you need this book. Well written, lovely photos, and even better instructions.

 

I received this book from Net Galley for this review.