Book Review: Daughter of a Daughter of a Queen


Title: Daughter of a Daughter of a Queen
Author: Sarah Bird
Rating:


The compelling, hidden story of Cathy Williams, a former slave and the only woman to ever serve with the legendary Buffalo Soldiers.

“Here’s the first thing you need to know about Miss Cathy Williams: I am the daughter of a daughter of a queen and my Mama never let me forget it.”

Missouri, 1864

Powerful, epic, and compelling, Daughter of a Daughter of a Queen shines light on a nearly forgotten figure in history. Cathy Williams was born and lived a slave – until the Union army comes and destroys the only world she’s known. Separated from her family, she makes the impossible decision – to fight in the army disguised as a man with the Buffalo Soldiers. With courage and wit, Cathy must not only fight for her survival and freedom in the ultimate man’s world, but never give up on her mission to find her family, and the man she loves. Beautiful, strong, and impactful, Cathy’s story is one that illustrates the force of hidden history come to light, the strength of women, and the power of love.

Christina Baker Kline says Daughter of a Daughter of a Queen is “an epic page-turner” and “unforgettable.”

My Review

Oh my, this book is engaging and wonderful. So true to what happened to the slaves after the civil war ended. The North did not truly care what happened to the slaves. Most of them did not care one bit for the Africans any more then the Southerns did. The Northerns were just following orders and refuse to let the South leave the Union. Once the civil war was over there was nothing for the slaves. They were just kicked off the only home they had ever known and made to fend for themselves.

I don’t judge Cathy’s choices cause in all honestly if I was in the same situation I would probably do the same thing. I admire her for surviving the way she did.

The characters are all well written and the story line is amazing. You need to read this book. The strength of Cathy is amazing the only downside to the book is the very end. It does not end they way you think it should or would. I still have unanswered questions about the story and in some ways that makes it a wonderful book.

 

I received this book from Net Galley for this review.

Book Review: A Crafter Knits a Clue


Title: A Crafter Knits a Clue
Author: Holly Quinn
Rating:


For fans of Betty Hechtman and Maggie Sefton, the latest craft frenzy is Holly Quinn’s Handcrafted series debut.

Sammy Kane just moved back to her hometown to run a craft store. But when the owner of a nearby yarn shop is murdered, Sammy will needle little help finding the killer.

When a heartbroken Samantha “Sammy” Kane returns to her hometown of Heartsford, WI, for her best friend Kate’s funeral, she learns that Kate’s much-loved craft store is in danger of perishing with its owner. Confounding all her expectations of the life she would live, Sammy moves back home with her golden retriever and takes over Community Craft. A few doors down Main Street, fellow new arrival Ingrid Wilson has just opened the Yarn Barn, a real “purl” of a shop. But when Sammy strolls over to see if Ingrid could use a little help, she finds Ingrid’s dead body—with a green aluminum knitting needle lodged in her throat.

Detective Liam Nash is thrown for a loop as every single citizen of Heartsford seems to have a theory about Ingrid’s murder. And nearly everyone in town seems to be a suspect. But the last time Sammy did any sleuthing was as a little moppet. And this is not fun and games. Sammy is eager to help the handsome Liam—who seems to be endlessly inventive in finding reasons to talk with her—and when Liam arrests affable woodworker Miles Danbury, Sammy puts everything on the line to help clear Miles.

As the case comes dangerously close to unraveling, Sammy must stitch the clues together. But the killer has other plans—and if Sammy’s not careful, she may wind up in a perilous knot in A Crafter Knits a Clue, the first warm and woolly yarn of Holly Quinn’s new Handcrafted mysteries.

My Review

Ok, first off, I love the sound & idea of this shop. Community Craft is and would be a perfect store to put into any city or town. That said I shall move one with the book review.

This book was basically chosen cause it dealt with crafting and I was trying to get out of a historical fiction groove. It worked. Anyway, this book starts off a little slow. I think the author could have done a better job with the back story of Kate but that is my opinion.

The story line is engaging and though I agree Sammy oversteps her bounds when it comes to her investigation into the murder I understand why she is doing it. Though I have to admit the relationship building between Sammy & Detective Liam Nash was not surprising though I am curious to see how the author grows or destroys it in the future books.

This book is what I call a classic chick book. I mean no insult or demeaning it in any way. I thoroughly enjoyed the story and plan on looking into other books by this author and getting the next ones in this series.

 

I received this book from Net Galley for this review.

Book Review: The Silence of the Girls


Title: The Silence of the Girls
Author: Pat Barker
Rating:


From the Booker Prize-winning author of the Regeneration trilogy comes a monumental new masterpiece, set in the midst of literature’s most famous war. Pat Barker turns her attention to the timeless legend of The Iliad, as experienced by the captured women living in the Greek camp in the final weeks of the Trojan War.

The ancient city of Troy has withstood a decade under siege of the powerful Greek army, who continue to wage bloody war over a stolen woman–Helen. In the Greek camp, another woman watches and waits for the war’s outcome: Briseis. She was queen of one of Troy’s neighboring kingdoms, until Achilles, Greece’s greatest warrior, sacked her city and murdered her husband and brothers. Briseis becomes Achilles’s concubine, a prize of battle, and must adjust quickly in order to survive a radically different life, as one of the many conquered women who serve the Greek army.
When Agamemnon, the brutal political leader of the Greek forces, demands Briseis for himself, she finds herself caught between the two most powerful of the Greeks. Achilles refuses to fight in protest, and the Greeks begin to lose ground to their Trojan opponents. Keenly observant and cooly unflinching about the daily horrors of war, Briseis finds herself in an unprecedented position to observe the two men driving the Greek forces in what will become their final confrontation, deciding the fate, not only of Briseis’s people, but also of the ancient world at large.
Briseis is just one among thousands of women living behind the scenes in this war–the slaves and prostitutes, the nurses, the women who lay out the dead–all of them erased by history. With breathtaking historical detail and luminous prose, Pat Barker brings the teeming world of the Greek camp to vivid life. She offers nuanced, complex portraits of characters and stories familiar from mythology, which, seen from Briseis’s perspective, are rife with newfound revelations. Barker’s latest builds on her decades-long study of war and its impact on individual lives–and it is nothing short of magnificent.

My Review

This is not your normal Helen of Troy book. So get that completely out of your mind. This book deals with completely with the slaves from the Greek conquests around Troy while they were locked in siege of Troy. You see a queen, Briseis, go from being a queen to being a lowly slave to Achilles and then to Agamemnon.

Even though she does not want to Briseis falls in love with Achilles and he with her though Achilles does not really understand the concept of love, in my opinion. I will not say if this book ends happily ever after or not. If you know the story of Helen of Troy then you know how the main story ends.

The author kept true to the main history story of the battle of Greece versus Troy and so if you know that story then this one is easy to follow. You can follow it fairly easy without knowing the history story, but it enriches the story if you know the reasons & what happens.

This book is well worth the read if you like Greek mythology (I do) and want to read the story from another point of view, in this case a slave. Get the book, read it, then let me know what you think!

 

I received this book from Net Galley for this review.