Book Review: Grey Lore


Title: Grey Lore
Author: Jean Knight Pace & Jacob Kennedy

Book Description:


Despite the perks of living with her rich aunt, Ella’s new life in Napper, Indiana, is pretty much tragically boring.

Until Ella starts hearing strange voices.

As rogue wolves begin to stalk the edges of town and a serial killer with a penchant for silver bullets draws closer, the city of Napper seems to wake up.

Ella, with her new friends, Sam and Sarah, might be able to find out what the strange occurrences mean. Except that they’re all being pulled in different directions by people who love them; and some who don’t.

Before they lose their way to the whispers they hear from the past, or the call to a future they’re not sure they want to create, the friends will need to confront who they really are and figure out what’s hiding in the silence of their sleepy little town.

My Review

This book sounded wonderful in the description. Trust me it was a good book. I feel that the author could have done a little more to the backstory before the very end because throughout the book I felt a little confused about what the backstory was on Ella’s & Sam’s story lines. It was an engaging read though and I do look forward to more in the series. Just hope the author give a little more backstory that is not completely wrapped in riddles.

I received this book from Net Galley for this review.

Book Review: Deadly Sweet

Title: Deadly Sweet (The Spellwork Syndicate Series #1)
Author: Lola Dodge

Book Description:


          For fans of Hex Hall, The Magicians, Practical Magic, and Food Wars!
          Anise Wise loves three things: baking, potion making, and reading her spellbooks in blissful silence. She might not be the most powerful witch, but enchantment is a rare skill, and her ability to bake with magic is even rarer. Too bad one wants witchcraft on their campus. Anise’s dream of attending pastry school crumbles with rejection letter after rejection letter.
          Desperate to escape her dead-end future, Anise contacts the long-lost relative she’s not supposed to know about. Great Aunt Agatha owns the only magic bakery in the US, and she suddenly needs a new apprentice. Anise is so excited she books it to New Mexico without thinking to ask what happened to the last girl.
          The Spellwork Syndicate rules the local witches in Taos, but as “accidents” turn into full-out attacks on Anise’s life, their promises to keep her safe are less and less reassuring. Her cranky bodyguard is doing his best, but it’s hard to fight back when she has no idea who’s the enemy. Or why she became their target.
          If Anise can’t find and stop whoever wants her dead, she’ll be more toasted than a crème brûlée.
          Who knew baking cakes could be so life or death?

My Review

This came off as a quick cheesy read, there is nothing wrong with those I enjoy them quite a lot. I was so completely wrong though. This book had ups, downs, sideways, and any other way you can think of. The idea that Lola Dodge got to put witches into “groups” (i.e. cooking, death, herbs, jewelry, etc) is simply amazing. She kept the story line going while keeping you interested in the side characters. I actually read the entire book in one night and went looking for more books in the series only to find out it will not be out till October. That was a major sad face.

This book (Deadly Sweet (The Spellwork Syndicate Series #1)) will keep you reading and hungry for more. I have not read any other series or book by Lola Dodge but I can assure you that she is now added to my favorite author list. Even if the description doesn’t sound like something you would read, I would give it a chance. It really is quite good and the characters are very well developed along with the story line.

One other thing? If you read this let me know if you figured out who the villain was before Lola Dodge tells you. I almost missed my guess (by two pages) and I am curious if I was just off on my clues or if Lola Dodge is that good.

I received this book from Net Galley for this review.

Book Review: Crochet Kaleidoscope


Title: Crochet Kaleidoscope
Author: Sandra Eng

Book Description:


Stitch up a colorful kaleidoscope of crochet!

Explore a lively twist on crocheted motifs as you shift through various shapes and color combinations. From the traditional granny square to more complex forms, these faceted motifs are the building blocks to creating unique and stunning designs. Crochet Kaleidoscope will help make your projects pop with the perfect mix of color in every stitch.

Along with a collection of 100 fresh motifs, this book includes a complete guide to choosing yarn colors, what order to put them in, and how many to include. Plus, get five home decor and accessory patterns including a table runner, pillow, and rug from crochet designer and author Sandra Eng. You can shift shapes and shades to make the perfect piece for your home.

Every turn of the crochet kaleidoscope allows you to get creative with color and apply your own unique personality to your crochet motifs.

My Review

I am completely floored with this book. I do not normally crochet a lot due to preference to knit, but this book has given me so many ideas for shawls, blankets, rugs, sweaters, the list could go on & on. As you read through the book you can tell that Sandra Eng has really taken the time to explain how to do each motif and even gives you the graphs along with the written instructions. Along with the instructions on how to read crochet charts which I still have issues with even though I learned to crochet when I was seven, lol.

The book is brimming with 100 motifs that you can mix and match to create a wonderful project. If you crochet or even if you are learning to crochet & enjoying it. This book NEEDS to be part of your crochet library. With 100 motifs you can leap from there to making all kinds of projects with them.

I received this book from Net Galley for this review.

Book Review: The Flight Attendant


Title: The Flight Attendant
Author: Chris Bohjalian

Book Description:


From the New York Times bestselling author of The Guest Room, a powerful story about the ways an entire life can change in one night: A flight attendant wakes up in the wrong hotel, in the wrong bed, with a dead man – and no idea what happened.

Cassandra Bowden is no stranger to hungover mornings. She’s a binge drinker, her job with the airline making it easy to find adventure, and the occasional blackouts seem to be inevitable. She lives with them, and the accompanying self-loathing. When she awakes in a Dubai hotel room, she tries to piece the previous night back together, counting the minutes until she has to catch her crew shuttle to the airport. She quietly slides out of bed, careful not to aggravate her already pounding head, and looks at the man she spent the night with. She sees his dark hair. His utter stillness. And blood, a slick, still wet pool on the crisp white sheets. Afraid to call the police – she’s a single woman alone in a hotel room far from home – Cassie begins to lie. She lies as she joins the other flight attendants and pilots in the van. She lies on the way to Paris as she works the first class cabin. She lies to the FBI agents in New York who meet her at the gate. Soon it’s too late to come clean-or face the truth about what really happened back in Dubai. Could she have killed him? If not, who did?

Set amid the captivating world of those whose lives unfold at forty thousand feet, The Flight Attendant unveils a spellbinding story of memory, of the giddy pleasures of alcohol and the devastating consequences of addiction, and of murder far from home.

My Review

From the first page this book had me hooked. There were so many characters that could have been the “bad” guy, but in the end it was one you never saw coming. The characters were well defined yet not so much you could not use your imagination to fill in the blanks. The twists & turns this poor woman went through is amazing at what she survived & dealt with.

I highly recommend this book to any & all that enjoy a thriller/mystery. I can not wait to read more from this author.

I received this book from Net Galley for this review.

Book Review: Alice Starmore’s Glamourie

Title: Alice Starmore’s Glamourie
Author: Alice Starmore

Book Description:


Glamourie is a Scots word meaning a charmed condition in which everything is invested with magical properties and possibilities. In this unique book, Alice Starmore leads us into the realm of glamourie and —like the witches of Gaelic folklore —casts spells with needles and a single thread. Taking her daughter Jade’s supernatural stories as inspiration, she uses the art of hand knitting to bewitch and bedazzle, and illustrates the tales with elaborate costumes and accessories that portray fanciful and extraordinary ideas. 
In creating these costumes, she has powerfully demonstrated the glamourie that can flow from the twin wands of a master magician.
While the first half of this book is an unrestrained flight of fancy, the second half contains full instructions for knitting beautiful garments based upon each costume, all written with Alice Starmore’s trademark accuracy and precision.  
By developing each of these patterns from its associated costume, she has revealed how her mind works and how her imagination led her from the initial inspiration through to the final design.
Alice and Jade Starmore are from the Isle of Lewis in the Outer Hebrides, and its moody Celtic landscape is the backdrop to the stories, costumes and designs they have created. The final stage of Glamourie was to take their creations back out into that landscape to be photographed. They trekked to special locations, far off the beaten track, and Jade’s spectacular photographs depict both the sweeping panorama and the minute detail of their beloved native isle. Three years in the making, this combination of photography and fable, of highly conceptual design and practical instruction, will enchant not only knitters but also those in the fashion and costume world and readers fascinated by Scottish and Gaelic legends.

My Review

Alice Starmore, what is there to say about this wonderful designer? I am amazed at the costumes she designed & a little sad she didn’t include the patterns for the actual costumes, but the patterns that are in the book live up to her wonderful explanations & designs. I have already seen about six of them that I want to make. My only issue is that I wish she would make some of her sweaters & clothing plus size.

The story that was written to go along with the costumes were well worth the cost of the book itself. It kept you enthralled & well written. I love mythology style writing so I adored it. I read the entire thing in one night cause I could not put it down.

I received this book from Net Galley for this review.