Book Review: The Washington Decree


Title: The Washington Decree
Author: Jussi Adler-Olsen
Rating: Unable to give a rating


The New York Times and #1 internationally bestselling author of the Department Q series is back, with a terrifyingly relevant stand-alone novel about an America in chaos.

“The president has gone way too far. . . . These are practically dictatorial methods we’re talking about.”

Sixteen years before Democratic Senator Bruce Jansen was elected president of the United States, a PR stunt brought together five very different people: fourteen-year-old Dorothy “Doggie” Rogers, small-town sheriff T. Perkins, single mother Rosalie Lee, well-known journalist John Bugatti, and the teenage son of one of Jansen’s employees, Wesley Barefoot. In spite of their differences, the five remain bonded by their shared experience and devotion to their candidate.

For Doggie, who worked the campaign trail with Wesley, Jansen’s election is a personal victory: a job in the White House, proof to her Republican father that she was right to support Jansen, and the rise of an intelligent, clear-headed leader with her same ideals. But the triumph is short-lived: Jansen’s pregnant wife is assassinated on election night, and the alleged mastermind behind the shooting is none other than Doggie’s own father.

When Jansen ascends to the White House, he is a changed man, determined to end gun violence by any means necessary. Rights are taken away as quickly as weapons. International travel becomes impossible. Checkpoints and roadblocks destroy infrastructure. The media is censored. Militias declare civil war on the government. The country is in chaos, and Jansen’s former friends each find themselves fighting a very different battle, for themselves, their rights, their country . . . and, in Doggie’s case, the life of her father, who just may be innocent.

My Review

I really tried to read this book. I really did. I was unable to complete more then 39% of the book. I consider myself to be a vote by the person not the party here in the USA. I did not vote for Trump. I was not happy with the idea of Hillary Clinton either to be honest, but I did vote for her because I felt she was the better choice between Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump.

I also feel the need to put in here that I suffer from chronic depression & severe anxiety. These two things combine makes my life, along with my other medical illnesses, very difficult and sometimes what I watch and read can effect me subconsciously even though I know that what I am watching and reading is fiction. It does not help that my step-mother is a devote Democrat and vehemently hates Donal Trump. I try my best to keep politics off this blog so I will finish this paragraph by saying just because she is does not mean I take everything I read & watch on her shows (that she watches) as the honest truth. I do my own research and come up with my own opinions.

The reason I could not finish this book is the fact that too much of it is sounding like what Donald Trump is trying to do and it bothers me too much to read it. I tried to read it for over two weeks and I just kept finding other things to do, i.e. knit, watch movies, tv shows, etc. rather then read this book. Then when I did manage to pick up the book to read, I would have nightmare and night terrors over what was happening in the book. So I gave up trying to read this book. For what I have read of it the characters and the story line are wonderful and it is no fault of the author that I was unable to read the book.

Once things settle down in the USA and the government gets back into shape where I do not feel like it is spinning out of control I might try to read this book again. Until then I am considering it done and this is the review it is getting. If I ever do manage to read it, which there are plot lines I want answers too, I will re-review it in a different post.

Again I am sorry I was unable to finish reading this book and have to give a review like this. Again it is no fault of the author or the book. I am just unable to handle how close to the truth it makes me feel to the current government we have here in the USA.

 

I received this book from Net Galley for this review.

Book Review: Jilliand


Title: Jilliand
Author: Clare Gutierrez
Rating:


“Bruised, bloody, and barely dressed, she knew it was over. She had no doubt the Vikings would search for her if she tried to run—especially now, with their companion lying dead. It would be dark soon, and she had no idea where she could go or hide. Jilliand knew they would come for her. The Vikings were not likely to let this go—especially it being an attack by a woman. She was defeated. Weak and shaking, she stared at the man’s body. I think tonight I die.”

My Review

This book was amazing. I loved every minute of it. The hardship & strength that Jilliand had to go through just to survive. Then what she thought was going to be the death of her turned out to be one of the greatest things even greater, to me in her opinion, of finding out who she truly was.

The characters & story line in this book was done wonderfully. The author gave you enough description that you knew what you were reading but at the same time you did not know enough that you could not imagine it. When I read books, I do not see the words, I see a running movie in my mind of what is happening in the story. The author knew what she was talking about and you could tell she did a through job of researching the era and the culture of the different cultures of the characters.

I highly recommend this book. It is am amazing love story with a wonderful, strong willed, sassy heroine. It is not a smooshy wooshy love story that story line is actually a small portion of the book. There is more action and mystery then a love story. Get the book, I promise you won’t regret it.

 

I received this book from Net Galley for this review.

Book Review: Daughter of a Daughter of a Queen


Title: Daughter of a Daughter of a Queen
Author: Sarah Bird
Rating:


The compelling, hidden story of Cathy Williams, a former slave and the only woman to ever serve with the legendary Buffalo Soldiers.

“Here’s the first thing you need to know about Miss Cathy Williams: I am the daughter of a daughter of a queen and my Mama never let me forget it.”

Missouri, 1864

Powerful, epic, and compelling, Daughter of a Daughter of a Queen shines light on a nearly forgotten figure in history. Cathy Williams was born and lived a slave – until the Union army comes and destroys the only world she’s known. Separated from her family, she makes the impossible decision – to fight in the army disguised as a man with the Buffalo Soldiers. With courage and wit, Cathy must not only fight for her survival and freedom in the ultimate man’s world, but never give up on her mission to find her family, and the man she loves. Beautiful, strong, and impactful, Cathy’s story is one that illustrates the force of hidden history come to light, the strength of women, and the power of love.

Christina Baker Kline says Daughter of a Daughter of a Queen is “an epic page-turner” and “unforgettable.”

My Review

Oh my, this book is engaging and wonderful. So true to what happened to the slaves after the civil war ended. The North did not truly care what happened to the slaves. Most of them did not care one bit for the Africans any more then the Southerns did. The Northerns were just following orders and refuse to let the South leave the Union. Once the civil war was over there was nothing for the slaves. They were just kicked off the only home they had ever known and made to fend for themselves.

I don’t judge Cathy’s choices cause in all honestly if I was in the same situation I would probably do the same thing. I admire her for surviving the way she did.

The characters are all well written and the story line is amazing. You need to read this book. The strength of Cathy is amazing the only downside to the book is the very end. It does not end they way you think it should or would. I still have unanswered questions about the story and in some ways that makes it a wonderful book.

 

I received this book from Net Galley for this review.

Book Review: A Crafter Knits a Clue


Title: A Crafter Knits a Clue
Author: Holly Quinn
Rating:


For fans of Betty Hechtman and Maggie Sefton, the latest craft frenzy is Holly Quinn’s Handcrafted series debut.

Sammy Kane just moved back to her hometown to run a craft store. But when the owner of a nearby yarn shop is murdered, Sammy will needle little help finding the killer.

When a heartbroken Samantha “Sammy” Kane returns to her hometown of Heartsford, WI, for her best friend Kate’s funeral, she learns that Kate’s much-loved craft store is in danger of perishing with its owner. Confounding all her expectations of the life she would live, Sammy moves back home with her golden retriever and takes over Community Craft. A few doors down Main Street, fellow new arrival Ingrid Wilson has just opened the Yarn Barn, a real “purl” of a shop. But when Sammy strolls over to see if Ingrid could use a little help, she finds Ingrid’s dead body—with a green aluminum knitting needle lodged in her throat.

Detective Liam Nash is thrown for a loop as every single citizen of Heartsford seems to have a theory about Ingrid’s murder. And nearly everyone in town seems to be a suspect. But the last time Sammy did any sleuthing was as a little moppet. And this is not fun and games. Sammy is eager to help the handsome Liam—who seems to be endlessly inventive in finding reasons to talk with her—and when Liam arrests affable woodworker Miles Danbury, Sammy puts everything on the line to help clear Miles.

As the case comes dangerously close to unraveling, Sammy must stitch the clues together. But the killer has other plans—and if Sammy’s not careful, she may wind up in a perilous knot in A Crafter Knits a Clue, the first warm and woolly yarn of Holly Quinn’s new Handcrafted mysteries.

My Review

Ok, first off, I love the sound & idea of this shop. Community Craft is and would be a perfect store to put into any city or town. That said I shall move one with the book review.

This book was basically chosen cause it dealt with crafting and I was trying to get out of a historical fiction groove. It worked. Anyway, this book starts off a little slow. I think the author could have done a better job with the back story of Kate but that is my opinion.

The story line is engaging and though I agree Sammy oversteps her bounds when it comes to her investigation into the murder I understand why she is doing it. Though I have to admit the relationship building between Sammy & Detective Liam Nash was not surprising though I am curious to see how the author grows or destroys it in the future books.

This book is what I call a classic chick book. I mean no insult or demeaning it in any way. I thoroughly enjoyed the story and plan on looking into other books by this author and getting the next ones in this series.

 

I received this book from Net Galley for this review.