Book Review: Daughter of War


Title: Daughter of War
Author: S.J.A. Turney
Rating:


An extraordinary story of the Knights Templar, seen from the bloody inside.

Europe is aflame. On the Iberian Peninsula the wars of the Reconquista rage across Aragon and Castile. Once again, the Moors are gaining the upper hand. Christendom is divided.

Amidst the chaos comes a young knight: Arnau of Valbona. After his Lord is killed in an act of treachery, Arnau pledges to look after his daughter, whose life is now at risk. But in protecting her Arnau will face terrible challenges, and enter a world of Templars, steely knights and visceral combat he could never have imagined.

She in turn will find a new destiny with the Knights as a daughter of war… Can she survive? And can Arnau find his destiny?

An explosive novel of greed and lust, God and blood, Daughter of War marks the beginning of an epic new series from bestseller S.J.A. Turney. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Conn Iggulden and Matt Harffy.

My Review

This was not what I thought the book would be about. I thought judging by the title and the cover it was going to be about a female Templar. It was not about a female Templar it was about a Templar knight that claimed sanctuary with his lord’s orphaned daughter who turned into a Templar nun.

Arnau of Valbona is besieged with the fact that his beloved lord was killed in battle by an act of treachery so he feels it is his duty to protect the unwed orphan daughter from the lord that is requiring her to marry him so he can have her lands and money. So Arnau and her go on the run to try to get to the king, but realize there is no way they will make it so they seek sanctuary with a small Templar temple. Once they have agreed to become part of the Templar’s everything starts to go wrong for the temple. Their workers are raised into rebellion, the temple is basically under seige, and Arnau has to learn to let God’s judgement handle vengeance not his thoughts and feelings.

This was an interesting book even though it was no where near what I thought it would be with the cover, title, and description of the book. I do recommend reading it and adding it to your to-read pile. I enjoyed it very much and am not unhappy it took a different route then the one I thought it was going to.

 

I received this book from Net Galley for this review.

Link to this post:

<a href="http://tigerwhispers.com/daughter-of-war/">Book Review: Daughter of War</a>