Book Review: Daughter of Destiny


Title: Daughter of Destiny
Author: Erica Brown
Rating:


The first in an explosive series featuring the Strong family and a legacy of lies that leads to love and murder, passion and heartbreak…

On a balmy night in Barbados, a female slave is made pregnant by the son of a plantation owner. The child, Blanche, comes of age but is left alone in the world when her mother dies. She is certain that Otis Strong, one of the plantation owner’s sons, is her father. He makes arrangements for Blanche to sail to Bristol where she will be taken in by his brother. Blanche sees it as a chance to learn the truth about her parentage and to reconnect with Nelson Strong, who she believes to be a cousin but with whom she is infatuated.

Upon arrival in England, Blanche is shocked to learn she’ll be treated as a servant. It is only Tom Strong, another ward of the family, who treats her as anything other. As Blanche gets closer to finding out the truth about her birth, she discovers there are some secrets that should remain untold…

Previously published as Like an Evening Gone by Jeannie Johnson. Perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies, Renita D’Silva and Sharon Maas.

Don’t miss the rest of the Strong Family Sagas:

1. Daughter of Destiny
2. The Sugar Merchant’s Wife
3. Return to Paradise

My Review

I was surprised at this book. The description sounded interesting and when I started the book I was afraid it was going to be another boring read, but to my surprised it turned out to be quite interesting. What Blanche went through, though to be quite honest most of it was her own naivety, while trying to figure out who her father was and how to handle the changes in her life were amazing.

The cast of characters were well defined and yet left enough for you to imagine. The story line took several twists & turns so you were never quite sure of what was gonna happen or when it was gonna happen. It also raises the issues that came with the abolishment of the slaves in the indies and how they were treated.

If you want a nice relaxing read that will keep you interested then I do recommend this book. I plan on reading the rest of the series once the books are out. Enjoy it, I did.

 

I received this book from Net Galley for this review.