Book Review: Caged


Title: Caged
Author: Ellison Cooper
Rating:


A gripping thriller debut for fans of Kathy Reichs, Thomas Harris and Patricia Cornwell.

FBI neuroscientist Sayer Altair hunts for evil in the deepest recesses of the human mind. Still reeling from the death of her fiancé, she wants nothing more than to focus on her research into the brains of serial killers. But when the Washington D.C. police stumble upon a gruesome murder scene involving a girl who’d been slowly starved to death while held captive in a cage, Sayer is called in to lead the investigation. When the victim is identified as the daughter of a high profile senator, Sayer is thrust into the spotlight.

As public pressure mounts, she discovers that another girl has been taken and is teetering on the brink of death. With evidence unraveling around her, Sayer races to save the second victim but soon realizes that they are hunting a killer with a dangerous obsession…a killer who is closer than she thought.

My Review

Wow just wow! There is so much that I would love to tell you about this book, but I am honestly afraid I would give so much away. The characters are wonderful and complex. Well fleshed out yet you can still see somethings that have not been told to you and you have to figure out for yourself. The villain was not who I guessed from the very beginning. Though I do admit they were in the group of people I had pegged for being the villain.

Sayer is a wonderful lead character. Just enough trauma to make it interesting but not enough that you feel sorry for her. She bring a well rounded group of skills to this case. I hope that the author will write more with Sayer as the main character. The plot lines were wonderful and you always knew where you were in the lines, but you never knew more then what the author wanted you to know. There was no jumping around in the plot lines and they all followed the main line without being the same story line. The different lines all blended and helped the main story line as you read.

I gave this book five (5) out of five (5) stars though in my opinion it deserves more stars. If you like mystery thrillers then I would suggest adding this one to your book pile. It is well worth the read.

 

I received this book from Net Galley for this review.